Get Email Updates!

Concentration of CO2 in the Atmosphere

Action Alert–Save Standard Offer. Contact Legislators TODAY!

Renewable Energy Vermont is working hard to ensure that the Standard Offer program continues and we need your help. If legislators don’t take action this year, then next year will be the last Standard Offer RFP and this highly successful, cost-effective, diverse, renewable electricity market opportunity will end.

Senators need to hear from you now.
Please email your Senators and encourage them to continue the Standard Offer program. Don’t let next year be the last Standard Offer RFP.

Standard Offer is the only consistent, transparent, long-term contract opportunity for new renewable electricity generation in Vermont. Contracts for new renewable electricity generation awarded through the Standard Offer program are extremely price competitive, often less than utility solar projects, and save money for all Vermonters. As you know, Standard Offer has enabled new solar, small wind, and farm digesters, and can help keep local hydro working as well.

As we face the increasingly urgent need to reduce Vermont’s emissions, we cannot do without the in-state, low-cost renewable energy that the Standard Offer program guarantees. Vermont is the only New England state where emissions are rising rather than falling. Now is simply not the time to eliminate Standard Offer, one of the most effective tools in our climate mitigation arsenal.

Email your Senators today and urge them to keep the Standard Offer program going.

Sen. Ann Cummings acummings@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Christopher Bray cbray@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Richard Westman rawestman@gmail.com
Sen. Christopher A. Pearson CPearson@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Michael Sirotkin msirotkin@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Randy Brock rbrock@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Mark A. MacDonald mmacdonald@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Brian Campion bcampion@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Dick McCormack rmccormack@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Ruth Hardy rhardy@leg.state.vt.us
We expect the Senate Natural Resources & Energy Committee to take up Standard Offer this Thursday. Help REV make it clear to them that Standard Offer is widely supported and a critical tool that should continue. If you get any feedback/response from Senators, please share it with olivia@revermont.org to help with our strategic lobbying efforts on your behalf.

SAMPLE EMAIL:

Dear Senator,

Please continue the Standard Offer program, a critical tool for enabling local renewable energy generation, building resilience in Vermont’s communities, and creating local jobs.

The Standard Offer program allowed my company [insert your name here] to provide low-cost renewable energy, saving Vermonters money and cutting climate pollution.

[personalize here with information about your business, customers, how SO has helped you and your community]

Sincerely,

[signed]

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>